h1

The Bourne Speculation

July 10, 2007

Update: Turns out I’m right. According to Devin Faraci over at CHUD.com, this last Bourne movie takes place largely when I speculated. If this wasn’t such an act of geeky obsession and pedantry, I could be proud.

Those Bourne movies are terrific. I love those things. While cleaning house a few weekends back, I put on The Bourne Supremacy for background noise. That, of course, drove me to dig up the trailer for the third and final film in the set, The Bourne Ultimatum, which is the summer sequel I’m really excited about.

Anyway, I’m watching the second movie and I’m reading the (handsome, but really pretty bare) website for the third one, and see that in the third movie, he “must travel from Moscow, Paris, Madrid and London to Tangiers and New York City…” Then, on the screen where I’ve got the DVD playing, that last scene in The Bourne Supremacy comes on, after the car chase and the, uh, climactic apology in Moscow: Jason calls Pamela Landy on the phone (and recalls a scene earlier in the movie) while he’s watching her from some high-rise window. They’re in New York. “David Webb,” she says. “That’s your real name.” And that’s the end of the second movie.

So what are we doing back in Moscow in The Bourne Ultimatum? Why does he have to go all over the world to dig up his forgotten past if he knows his real name now? He has a place to start right here in the States doesn’t he?

Any number of things could take Jason Bourne back across the globe in his search for the truth(TM), but I have a theory, and I’ll share it with you so we can see, come August, if I’m right or not. I think screenwriter Tony Gilroy’s work on the previous Bourne movies has been very clever, and the second one shows that he’s not afraid to pull punches.

I propose that last scene in the second movie happens part way through the third movie. Yes, it’s possible that Landy just goes down the hall to the operations center they’ve had set up and waiting for Bourne, and so the movie opens where the last one left off, and that’s when we see all this “within 1,000 yards of this building” stuff that we get in the trailers, but I don’t think so. (For one thing, Landy’s not wearing the same clothes.) More to the point, it’s anticlimactic. I think this third movie takes us from Bourne’s acceptance of his own actions, and his apology1, across the globe and back to the States where, later on in the movie, he calls Pam on the phone in the scene we see at the end of The Bourne Supremacy.

In fact, that shot that ends the trailer, with a backlit Bourne walking through what appears to be an empty office building is a strangely un-dramatic way to end a trailer. I’ll bet that’s a shot of him walking to or from the call to Pamela Landy. And I’ll bet that last Supremacy scene has a lot more going on in it than just a simple callback and whiff of closure, once we’ve seen this last movie in the series. We’ll see if I’m right.

1. Brian Cox’s character’s last words in The Bourne Supremacy are, “I’m not sorry.” The climactic Moscow car chase occurs almost solely so Jason Bourne can find a young woman and apologize to her. I dig these movies.

Music: Jesper Kyd, “Hitman Title (Extended Version)”

4 comments

  1. awesome trailer. i am sooo ready.


  2. cool trailer.


  3. […] we get another clever little tie in to the end of a previous Bourne movie — this time the first one. At the end of The Bourne […]



Leave a Reply

