h1

Layover in Charlotte

July 4, 2007

A nice, small airport they’ve got here. I’m enjoying free WiFi and a really nice office chair courtesy of Bank of America, whose services we’ve just decided to abandon back in Atlanta. Maybe if they offered me free WiFi and a comfy office chair at Hartsfield-Jackson, I’d think about staying on as their customer.

I’m en route to Columbus for Origins, where I am a Guest of Honor this year. It’s my first time as a Guest of Anything, much less Honor. Here’s hoping they can’t sense my lack of honor when I arrive.

I barely got here. Not because the flight was rough, or because I almost missed my flight from Atlanta (though I did almost miss my flight from Atlanta), but because I almost didn’t wake up on the plane. If not for a nice guy waiting to disembark, who tapped me on the shoulder (either out of neighborly helpfulness or fear that I was a corpse), I might’ve just kept sleeping until noon, when the plane landed in Omaha or something after taking on more passengers.

Instead of sleeping last night, I got in a quick RPG session (from, I don’t know, 9pm to 1am?) and then rushed, panicking, through packing and preparations for the trip. Meaning, you understand, that Sara did the packing while I gathered together USB cables and charges, then took a nap with the dog. So I’m on about an hour of sleep, plus the hour I got the plane, plus the hour I expect to get on the next plane. I’ll be dizzy, stumbling, mumbling and nonsensical by this afternoon, when usually I don’t get like that until the second or third day of the convention.

Seriously, I expect this to be a quieter Origins for me. For one, I really want to get a chance to converse with some people that I seldom see, and the heavy drinking sometimes makes that hard. For another thing, a coworker and I have plans to make this a fact-finding and opinion-gathering expedition. This year I’m more interested in picking the brains of smart people than seeing what the inside of my own skull looks like.

That, and saving my per-diem pennies for the flight of rare Madeiras at dinner on Saturday.

One comment

  1. Every single person that owns such a smart phone will need an iphone USB cable. Contrary to popular belief, this is necessary besides the regular dock station that you use. Most stations are only usable for charging the batter of the iphone and you will want to have a device that allows you to connect the phone to a USB plug. A universal dock that also includes a cable connect option is great but there are not many on the market. Most people will end up using USB cables. The problem is that there are too many options to not feel a little overwhelmed. –

    See all of the helpful piece of writing at our blog
    <.http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/coconut-water-benefits/



Leave a Reply

