h1

Facile

September 7, 2006

Let’s do a quick lap of the things I think this blog is about, even though it’s so often not:

Writing: Ask me for a thousand words on games or movies and I’ll write that, no problem. Ask me to write a two-minute speech for the wedding of two of my favorite people on the planet, and I’ll pry two screws out of my skull before I manage to find two words that make sense next to each other.

Games: Pieces of Eight is probably the best game I brought back from Gen Con, even though I have some trouble remembering how all the coins work. It’s fun to handle and tinker with, fun to be seen playing, easy to teach and — wait for it — fun to play.

Music: Samples of The Crane Wife, the new-in-October album coming from The Decemberists, are now online here.

Movies: Here’s the site where I found Chuck Russel’s script for a Neuromancer movie that never was. It’s not terrible, but it’s not the Neuromancer I’d want to see, either.

Television: At Dragon-Con, I got to meet the investigators from The Ghost Hunters. Nice guys, friendly and busy. At least a couple of them used to play our games (or still do), which is always a treat to hear. If you haven’t seen the show, it’s a real trip, and available with iTunes.

Books: Any page now, I expect The Black Dahlia to get to the part about the Black Dahlia. Sometime on this trip, I’ll be starting in on my advance copy of The Beautiful Cigar Girl and re-reading my worn-curly copy of Neuromancer. While in Michigan, I’m sure to go looking for books on local ghosts and such; I’ll let you know.

Travel: Soon I’ll be back in Michigan for the first time in, what, three years? Four? First I’ll be stopping in the area of New Buffalo for some heart-warming festivities, then I’ll be retreating farther north, where Chicago weekenders usually won’t go, where my folks are retiring, where I won’t be able to do anything but fret about the work I’m not doing this weekend. Hopefully I’ll be so stuffed with hot dogs, wine and lake views that I’ll forget to fret.

Food: I had one of these weird bohemian-hipster alternative colas at the Pot Belly sandwich joint in Midway Airport, in Chicago, last month and damn if it wasn’t tasty. If you can find it, you should try it.

Embarrassing Geekery: I’m not proud to have watched this very cheesy YouTube Star Wars remix thing, but I have to admit that it demonstrates a pretty sound sense of editing, especially compared to all the damned “Anakin/Nickelback Tribute” garbage that’s in there. If nothing else, stick around for its little recap of the movie titles, early on.

Oddities: This is my wallet. When someone notices it, I know they are intelligent. When someone remarks about it, I know they are some kind of rad. When someone is skeptical about it, I know they take this kind of thing too seriously. I mean, look at it: it’s shiny and has moving parts. It is good.

Noise: 30 Days episode, “Jail”

4 comments

  1. Wow… and I thought, after seeing a link to Will’s blog on Molly’s blog — “I wonder if he’s been up to anything.”


  2. The Ghost Hunters came out to the museum I was working at last summer, the Merchant’s House Museum in lower Manhattan. (Season 2 Episode 6) They were kind of a pain–they bitched about not being able to set up their equipment on the museum pieces, and then had some sort of very minor fight amongst themselves. Rather than talking about the house or potential hauntings, they spent the majority of the segment talking about how “He constantly disrespects me and I’m sick of it” or “It’s difficult for those guys.” (Their equipment was also nearly stolen outside the house, but I’ve always thought that might have been staged.) I was pretty unimpressed.


  3. We have the coolest wallets on the planet. 😀

    Also–that Violent Femmes cover you heard at our place was done by Gnarles Barkley.

    take care!


  4. Pieces of Eight is probably the best game I brought back from Gen Con[…]

    Thanks! That means a lot to me.

    I had one of these weird bohemian-hipster alternative colas[…]

    I’ve had that, and remember liking it. There’s a small chain of liquor stores in SoCal called BevMo where they also sell all kind of weird little specialty sodas. If you can find it, also try Leninade (which, naturally, is red). Although less difficult to find, Stewart’s Orange Cream soda remains the best soda in a bottle, ever. Avoid Brain Wash Blue.



Leave a Reply

