h1

Sick Tales

May 16, 2005

My legs hurt. They’re all stiff and achey, I think because I slept on the bathroom floor for a large portion of last night and this morning. I foolishly ate lunch at a Flying J in west Georgia and now I can’t eat at all. Even chicken soup (for the body) gets sent right back by my angry guts. If you recall me describing how sick I was on the ferry to Orkney, this might be worse than that. It’s hard to tell, though, ’cause on the one hand the floor is relatively stable but on the other hand I’m not traveling the UK.

I’ll be back in a little while, I hope, to blog about Birmingham, Alabama, the Decemberists show, winning a poker tournament and some other things.

In the meantime, I wanted to do a little pinging. What is it you come by here for? What do you expect out of a blog like this one and are you getting it? I estimate that, discounting LiveJournal syndication (which adds up to about seven readers), I have maybe a half-dozen readers here. You’re one of them. Sound off.

Also, even if a blog seems personal, please do comment, even a little bit. Otherwise I feel like I’m quacking into the void. Besides, I don’t put anything up here that I don’t want to hear back about. That’s the rule. The desperate write so that people will talk about them, after all.

11 comments

  1. Well, I come here to find out what is going on with two of the most important people in my life. Back in the day , when you and Q lived out here, I didn’t get to read much of your stuff. Now I get to read a lot more, and hear about your adventures.

    It’s cheaper than a phone call and is consistently a good read. It also makes me miss you both.


  2. Keep quacking, Will!


  3. I read it for the articles. I barely even look at the pictorials.


  4. Wandered over from, hell, somewhere. Probably Brian’s blog. Hey…last time I saw him he had blue hair…seemed like the thing to do at the time.


  5. I like to read what people are reading, listening to, watching, etc. So I like the sidebar. Plus this is the only way I know what’s going on. Plus, you’re amusing and have interesting things to say. So, I guess just keep posting.

    Kate


  6. Your blog fills a deep void in my life between smoking crack and sitting on my couch in my underpants. Keep it up!


  7. Your blog is witty, erudite and literate and a pleasing blend of the personal and the global. Quack on, quack on.


  8. I find myself returning to your blog because it’s the closest thing to talking with you while putting milk away. Sure the conversation is oft times one way, and I’ve been lax in my blogging, but I do miss conversations over coffee and the occasional cigarette. I also highly suggest picking up anything by the band Okkerville River. I think they might have been on tour with the decemberists.


  9. So, about ten minutes ago when I actually read your request for commentary, I came over here to the comment composition page and tried to think of a comment that was clever enough to express (a) I read this blog, (b) I think it contains good writing, and (c) I am also clever. I got lots of draft comments to hit two of those three criteria, most of them failing to express (c).

    I figured I should probably go back to work, and so I did. While working — gearing up to work, actually — I had to reference a computer sticky note to copy a commonly used terminal command. On another sticky, I spotted a sentence I copied over from your blog a couple months ago, because I thought that it was an awesome sentence, and expressed something cool. It was:

    “Tonight, I got the urge to go dipping for a favorite haiku, because I’m an absurd and pretentious dork.”

    Although I still have not thought of a comment to write that expresses (c), I thought I would come back and let you know that things you blogged months ago live on stickies on my computer, for later reference, for what it’s worth.


  10. I come here because you have nice hair and are kind to puppies.

    And your prose destroys worlds.

    — Chuck


  11. I like your blog mainly because you’re a neat person, so you have a lot of interesting things to say. Second, it’s well written. (You know how to use an apostrophe–it’s refreshing. I know you’re a professional writer and all, but it’s still a pleasant change.)

    Hope you’re feeling better!



Leave a Reply

