h1

April 7, 2004

It Almost Ate Luke
Here’s why Dianogah is cooler than your band:

1. The band’s made up of basses (x2) and drums. That’s it. Bass and drums are better than guitars.

2. The Band Name Exchange on their website is a terrific idea and you wish you’d thought of it.

3. I hear the song titles on their newest album, Millions of Brazilians, were submitted by fans and listeners. Since the album’s all instrumentals, why the hell not do that? It gets them such great titles as “the sky came down to the rooftops” and “maria, who has got her heart completely f**ked up.” Those are good titles.

4. The music’s good.

5. They’re from Chicago, and when I think of Chicago I get happy. Bands that make me happy are better than those that don’t.

Ben Kweller’s New One
For some reason, I’ve been writing a lot about music this week. Speaking of which, Ben Kweller’s new one is now on iTunes, and iTunes is still on fire. Here’s what I got:

I want to kill this man
but he turned around and ran.
I’ll kill him with karate
that I learned in Japan.
He wouldn’t see my face.
I wouldn’t leave a trace.
I wouldn’t use a bullet
’cause a bullet’s a disgrace.

–Ben Kweller, “On My Way”

Soon: Review of Halo, just a year or so behind everyone else.

Leave a Reply

