h1

March 2, 2004

Milestones Make Sense Now
When I was younger, I did a lot of community theater work some of the finest people you could ever meet. Great people. To this day, I laugh just remembering jokes made by my friend Doug. He did a Schwarzenegger impression that was so good I’m wasting your time writing about it now.

On the opening night of our production of Norton Juster’s The Phantom Tollbooth, one of our friends, Lauren, died in an awful car accident. She was on her way to participate in the show’s first performance. It’s one of the stand-out, defining moments of my youth. It was ten years ago today.

From here (which I can see quite clearly) to then (which I can make out pretty well from here) is ten years. As I think about it, it changes. It’s like a decade has finally come fully out of the fog, like a huge iron ship, and I can just now make sense of its whole shape. From stem to stern, it’s ten years long, and standing out at the very prow is a girl I knew when we were young.

Leave a Reply

