h1

February 6, 2004

Memes Spinning Like Thread
This latest batch of questions comes from GM Skarka. Waste no time:

1. If you could have been at any concert of any group at any point in their career, which one would it have been?
Tough one. I’m not a fella who’s crazy for seeing groups live. I like it fine, but crowds and throngs tend to spoil the experience for me. Short-sighted though it may be, I’m going to say that I’d like to see Squirrel Nut Zippers right in the era when they started to take off. Andrew Bird must be among them. All evidence suggests that they’d shake that speakeasy to the street. Yes, please, with a chaser.

2. What was your last work-related screw-up?
When asked about the most fun you’ve had on a project, Gareth, you said: “Whatever project I’m working on at the moment. … I become most enthused about the next project I’m doing.” Brother, I’m the opposite. As a freelancer, my biggest work-related screw-up is always whatever project I’m working on at the moment. I dread the work I’m doing, sometimes even more than the work that I have yet to do. Every book, without a doubt, will be my last because no one will ever hire me again after this dreck.

In my day job at Atlas, every day is like a delightful circus of work-related screw-ups. See the clown lose a phone number. Watch the beared lady get lost in the mail. Behold the Amazing Headless Man.

Folks want specifics, though, so I’ll say Sorcery & Shadow, which is way behind schedule because of me, and trust that you’ll accept “current” for the category of “last.”

3. What was your last work-related triumph?
For obvious reasons, that’s a hard one for me to answer, too. Triumph is a mighty strong word, but the last thing I got really excited about around the office was the feeling that a really talented, really appropriate writer had taken on Blowing Up Hong Kong, coupled with the satisfaction of knowing that, after almost ten years of Feng Shui products by some real luminaries, I would be the one finally bringing the book into the world. As a freelancer, my most recent triumph was getting the green light for a book that I’ve wanted to do for a long time but I’m not yet ready to jinx by talking about. (See it’s title at left.)

4. How would you pitch your dream TV series, as if you were in a producers office, and you had a shot of getting it made?
“It’s everything that made Law & Order, ER and Star Trek into successful franchises and television staples, except it doesn’t suck like Mercy Point.”

5. Name your three favorite foods.
Gah, I hate favorites. Can I say “Mexican food, Pan-Asian, and breakfast cereal” and get away with it?

THE RULES:
1 – Leave a comment, saying you want to be interviewed.
2 – I will respond; I’ll ask you five questions.
3 – You’ll update your journal with my five questions, and your five answers.
4 – You’ll include this explanation.
5 – You’ll ask other people five questions when they want to be interviewed.

Noise: Phantom Planet, “Big Brat”

Leave a Reply

