h1

October 7, 2003

Spent some time tonight fiddling with a new comment system hosted right here on the Acousticboy server, but to no avail. I’m not sure why I couldn’t make it work (Jeff!) but I think it might have to do with my relative ignorance of Perl and cgi scripting (outside of HTML forms and all that). Anyway, I’ll dive into it again later when IE doesn’t keep performing illegal operations and force me to scream like a lunatic.

Finished Splinter Cell tonight, much to my surprise. I really didn’t think that was the end of the game until the credits rolled. Anyway, I enjoyed it a great deal once I got a hold on the controls. The sequel-slash-expansion, Pandora Tomorrow, is due out in March ’04 (the year Splinter Cell took place, please note) and featured gorgeous locations in Jakarta among, I expect, other parts of the world.

This means that I’ve tackled Indiana Jones and the Emperor’s Tomb and Splinter Cell since I got the Xbox, just over 30 days ago. I’m just about finished with The Two Towers, and may yet finish it if I suddenly decide that the repetitive, motionless level I’m on seems fun again. Once I get paid for Smuggler’s Run (more on that soon), I’ll pick up Crimson Skies: High Road to Revenge and play the hell out of it. Aren’t you glad you asked.

Also: All those television programs I’m usually so devoted to? I’m already 50% behind on all of those. Alias season premiere? Missed it. So far, not so happy with the changes this season, though.

You might think or hope that I have something more to talk about right now than video games and television, but unless I review The Rundown (great website, there) for you or ramble about tabletop games, this is as good as it gets right now. I will give you this little tidbit: My next book is for Fantasy Flight’s Midnight campaign setting, which is a treat. Besides that, Feng Shui continues ahead with a brand-new book that I’m becoming quite excited about. More, you guessed it, on that later.

Noise: The rodent is chewing on the bars of her cage.
Reading: Altered Carbon, by Richard K. Morgan

Leave a Reply

